Awestruck –> Proximity Part 3

Part 1
Part 2

kind_schiet_de_bal_volkomen_mis

Coaching kids soccer is one of my favorite things.  Last season my team, the Nighthawks, went undefeated and just dominated everyone we played.  I’d like to say it was all coaching, but the truth is that I just had 4 kids who can really play.

After every game there was always two questions:

  1. What was the final score?
  2. Who had the most goals?

We knew we were going to win.  By how much exactly was up for grabs but we knew we were going to put numbers up on the board.

What they REALLY wanted to know was who on our team scored the most goals.  A few times they would ask in the middle of the game and I could see it: they started ball-hogging a little bit more.  A couple of times I saw on their faces some expressions that were “less than enthusiastic” when a teammate would score.

Because THEY wanted to be the one who scored the most.

Sometimes it’s hard to share success.

In a couple of weeks Awestruck Church will be sending out an amazing team of people to start Proximity Church in Northeast Greensboro.  We will be prayed over, loved on and encouraged.  In about 5 months we will have our first Sunday…

Then something is going to happen.  Something terrible.

There will be some, in both locations, who compare Awestruck to Proximity.  Which church was more exciting?  Which church had the most people?  Which do I like better?  No one will say it!  We know better than that…but it will be a thought that creeps into the minds of some.

I really do understand.

Here’s the thing…

One day my two children, who I have poured everything into for 2 decades, will leave home and set out to make a life on their own.  It would be a pretty selfish dream to hope that they struggle.  What kind of father wants their kids to call home saying, “Life is a lot harder than I expected…I can’t do it without you”?   Likewise, it’s a pretty dumb kid that thinks he made it on his own!

My hope is that when my children leave home they step into a success that was beyond anything I could have ever achieved myself.  I want them do accomplish more than me…and I want their children to accomplish more than them!  That’s called LEGACY.  My legacy.

Their success is my success.

In 5 months, Proximity Church is going to begin and we are going reach a lot of people!  I believe that a bright future is in store for us.  As we look forward to our bright future we can do so with great thankfulness in our heart – for a church like Awestruck who has prepared us to realize our potential.

We should be excited!

And so should everyone at Awestruck.

Our success is their success.

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

