Awestruck –> Proximity Part 2

Ready to hear the story of Josh and I’s biggest disagreement?

9fTAtUK

I thought he lost his mind.

He called me and told me all about this church planter he had met.  He was excited.  That wasn’t new.  Josh is frequently excited.

GAlXWU2

The excitement is contagious.  It’s one of my favorite things about Josh.  That didn’t bother me.  Besides, I love church plants so it was cool hearing about this new guy.  Then Josh said something.  Something that just struck me as insane…

“I want to give him $1,000”

“Um…Josh, we have $1,100 in the bank.  

“This is important to me.  I want to do it”

“I can take a look at upcoming expenses and crunch some numbers and see exactly what we can do.  I don’t think $1,000 is a good idea though”

“I hear you, but I want to do $1,000”

10Y2pC5

So we hung up and I took some time to pray about it.  I called him back an hour later and said, “I wouldn’t do it, but if it’s important to you then it’s important to me.”

Church planting runs deep in the culture of Awestruck.  Over the years we have given irrationally to start new churches.  It’s not what we do.  It’s who we are.  So, as Proximity Church is sent out we are experiencing the same blessing.

Josh hadn’t lost his mind.  He just understood that Awestruck is a steward not a storehouse.  People, resources, money…these things don’t stay at Awestruck.  They are sent out to make a Kingdom difference.

And that’s worth getting excited about.

 

 

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

One response to “Awestruck –> Proximity Part 2

Leave a Reply

