Awestruck –> Proximity Part 1

309221_10151095967524223_1386760068_n

I’ve always wanted to be cool.

Zach Morris, Ferris Bueller, and Stefan Urquelle (not Steve Urkel) were my role models of choice.

Needless to say, I was not cool!

Then, in 2007, I tagged along with a cool pastor and his cool team to a conference for cool pastors and cool teams.  We had a blast learning from some of the greatest leaders out there, walking around the Atlanta Mall, and making fun of other pastors.  We had a lot in common!  I was sure I was destined to be cool like him.  Then, on the last day there we were once again at the mall and he tried to talk me into getting these $150 shoes.

$150!  FOR SHOES!?  For my feet?

co0Ys

Ok…we rebuilt.

In time, after years of fantasy sports and plates of turkey bacon at Tex and Shirley’s I looked up and Josh had become my closest pastor friend in Greensboro.

In October 2010 my small house church joined up with Awestruck to reach Northeast Greensboro.  That was the beginning of a 7 year attempt by Josh to make me cool.

He failed.

HyTO3DS

I still don’t have the awesome shoes, I can’t grow the beard, and I’ll never be near the social juggernaut of Josh Parrish…

But I did pick up one big thing:

The Gospel requires big risk and big sacrifice.

So, here we go.  I could stay at Awestruck for the rest of my life.  Anyone who thinks that I (or anyone on our team) is starting Proximity because we aren’t happy just isn’t paying attention.  I LOVE Awestruck.  But I love the Gospel more.

“Missions is giving up something you love for something you love more” – Andrew Hopper

So, Proximity Church is COMING SOON and COMING CLOSE to Northeast Greensboro.

It’s not coming out of nowhere.

Proximity Church is coming out of risk.  It’s coming out of sacrifice.  It’s coming out of a church that has a commitment to do whatever it can to share God with Every Single One!

And it wouldn’t be happening without the friendship and support of the coolest guy I know.

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

One response to “Awestruck –> Proximity Part 1

Leave a comment