How I Know You Aren’t a Christian

As I looked over the menu of Macs Speed Shop here in Greensboro I felt, for the first time in our marriage, a lack of confidence from my wife.  She didn’t believe in me and it hurt.  It shook my resolve and, after a few uncomfortably silent seconds when the waitress came for our order, I’m ashamed to admit it…

I chickened out.

Right there in front of me was the opportunity of a lifetime!  It was MY moment!  A chance to stand on my desk and seize the carp!  In front of me was Greensboro’s very own version of “The Old 96er”

96er-o

5 pounds of bbq, burger, macaroni, and other assorted goodies!  The picture looks amazing. And if I finish WHEN I FINISHED I would have earned free dinner for both of us.  Alas, my wife let it be known that I most certainly would not finish a 5 pound sandwich, and she didn’t want to pay the 50$ price tag when I failed.  So I got the 10 oz jalapeño burger.

And I didn’t finish it 🙂

Anyway, as we were wrapping up we noticed a table of about 20 people nearby.  Now, one of our pastimes (like “who can beat up who” where we pick two of our friends and guess who would win in a fight to the death) is “How do these people know each other” (we aren’t great at naming our games).  Most of the time it’s pretty obvious so the game devolves into us just making up elaborate jokes about possible relationships.

This time, however, it was genuinely a mystery.  We ruled out church group pretty quickly before eventually settling on Pokemon Addicts Anonymous Meeting.

Then we were sad.

We were sad b/c of the reasons we dismissed the group as being one of spiritual orientation.  First, and probably most painful, was that the group was diverse.  Not only was there both white and black people among the group, but it was pretty balanced between the two.  Also the group spanned generations.  Sitting across the table from a couple in their 20’s was an older gentleman who must have been near retirement age.  Next we noticed how social the group was acting.  Not among themselves (church folk are pretty good at that), but with other people there.  The wait staff, when they weren’t with customers, would mosey (I’m going to start using that word more) over to hang out with them.  One guy walked over to smoke with another guy off the patio and they ended up talking for a good while.  Finally, and this is more “gut” than anything else: they didn’t “feel” like a church group.  You know how when you are searching radio stations and you get to KLOVE and you can tell it’s a Christian song long before you hear any words about Jesus, the ocean, a battlefield, or our hearts eyes being opened?  Something about Christian music just “feels” Christian even before they say anything.  Well, that’s kind of true for Christians in general.  I don’t mean morally or b/c of our good deeds.  I’m referring to our subculture.  They have us pegged.

Our Christian “way” isn’t necessarily a good or bad thing, but if we aren’t aware of it we may forget that there are square people out there who don’t fit our round hole.

Anyway.  I wanted to walk up and ask them how they knew each other.  I wanted to get to know them and why they are the way they are.  To be totally honest I wanted to join them!

I wanted to respond to them the way I so wish the world would respond to the church.

But I didn’t.  I got on with my thing and my agenda.  Makes sense…

After all, I am a Christian.

 

Leave a Reply

