Running with Kristan

I don’t like running with Kristan.

She’s faster than me.  She has more endurance than me.  I’m afraid that if she sees me run she’ll realize that, despite doing it regularly for a while now, I still look and sound like 18 year old overfed pug.

Fat-Pug (1)

Yea, it’s not pretty when I run.

But I love my wife & I knew it would make her day if I invited her on my run this evening.  It felt like such a great idea at the time.  Granted, that was before two delicious fish tacos from Rio Bravo…and a butterfinger ice cream cone for dessert.  If I had it to do over again maybe, eh who am I kidding?  I’d do the exact same thing.

Anyway, running with Kristan is like watching the Harlem Globetrotters play the Generals.  I kept waiting for her to throw a bucket of confetti at me.  There are moments, and this is very hard for me to admit, that she is LITERALLY running circles around me as I make my way down the street.  I run.  She orbits.  Ugh.

Yet here we are.  I have about 225 miles on the year (significantly more than I’ve ever done).  It’s August so I’ll likely get there sometime in late September or early October.  You know what?  It’s an amazing feeling!

Long term goals are tough.  Anyone can say they are going to run today, but calling a 300 mile year takes commitment from summer Mike.  Sometimes summer Mike doesn’t stick with January Mike’s plans.  I’m a quitter & I know it.

Don’t look at me like that!  Most of you do it too.  Only 23% of New Years resolutions are kept (and most of those are probably the easy ones like “I’m going to try new menu items at Wendy’s”).  We are all quitters.  If we really wanted to do the thing that we “resolve” to do in January, we would have been doing it in December.  The same reasons we had to force ourselves to START are the same reasons we are probably going to STOP.

We don’t like doing things we don’t like doing.

I hate running.  225 miles in and I don’t enjoy it any more than I did on January 1st.  I find reasons not to do it: It’s too cold, it’s too hot, I’ve had too many fish tacos, The coyotes are howling (ok, that’s actually really reasonable).  Nothing has changed!  I still hate it.

But I do it.  I’m going to do it tomorrow.  Next year I’m going to run 400.

And I’m going to complain about it after every run just like I do now, because that’s what discipline is: It’s work when you don’t want to work.

That’s how you get results.

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

One response to “Running with Kristan

Leave a Reply

