Running for Life Change (part 2)

Yesterday, on the very day that 2016 Mike outran 2014 Mike, I failed.  I walked.  It was at the same place that it has happened many times before: that stupid hill coming back from the pool.  It’s not that steep of a hill, but it’s long.  Yesterday it got the better of me.

It’s strange.  I have run that hill successfully countless times.  Usually it’s the last leg of my 5+ mile runs.  I ALWAYS finish it on the big runs.  Once it was the 9th mile on a 10 mile run.  For the record, my 9th mile was the 3rd fastest mile of that night.  I know I can do it! Yesterday, at about 2.25 miles in, I caved in and failed.  As bummed out as I was for the 45 seconds I strolled up that hill I found some encouragement…

An off night does not mean you’re off track.

3 years ago I ran exactly 0 miles.  2 years ago I didn’t even try to run that hill.  It was beyond me and I knew it.  Today, I succeed more than I fail.  Tomorrow will be even better than today.

Failure can really mess a person up.  It’s extremely easy to take a moment of failure and apply it to our identity.  There have definitely been times I’ve walked up that hill thinking I’m still the same guy that ran 3/4 of a mile in 16 minutes 2 years ago.

Yesterday I mentioned how far I feel I have come with being competitive.  I don’t want to go into a rage when Asher traps me in Mousetrap or Kristan runs more miles than me in a month (I’m currently up by 13 in March!).  I’d be lying, however, if I pretended to be perfect.  There have been some neighborhood basketball games where I caught myself getting a little frustrated with how things are going.  A couple of months ago we were playing Phase 10 with friends and I had to text them an apologize for losing my cool.  In my defense, the phase where you have to get 7 in a row can get really old when you watch everyone else lay down 4 wild cards round after round and all you have are 6 “2’s” in your hand.

Yea, when it comes to being competitive, I have my hills.  Sometimes I fail and have to walk.  As time goes on, more and more I’m running hard to the top.

Failing doesn’t make a person a failure.  Failing makes a person a follower.  

My goal in life is to follow Jesus and become more like Him.  That’s a pretty lofty goal.  If I’m not failing, I have a pretty high view of myself or low view of Him.

 

 

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

