Double Dipping and the Tale of Two Jackets

 

I know all about that Mythbusters episode saying that double-dipping isn’t going to cause you to contract ebola.  Seriously, I get it, even though it sure SEEMS like that big blob of cheese that fell out of your mouth back into the bowl probably has some of your ebola on it, I will take science’s word for it.  Whatever.

I still hate double-dippers.  Not because it’s gross, but because it’s selfish.

We aren’t the never-nudes.  There are literally more than dozens of us who refuse to eat after double-dippers.  Our numbers are great and our voices are loud!  If you dip a chip, slobber all over it, and dip it again, you are giving me the middle finger…with your mouth.  And you know it.

Double dipping is thinking of yourself above others.  Double dipping is arrogant.  Jesus died to save double dippers from their double dipping sin.

It’s funny.  I can be really patient with some sins.  I know people who struggle with all manners of things, and it doesn’t grate on my nerves at all.

Pride is different.  I hate other people’s pride.

I know people that when they talk I just look at them and in my brain I’m counting how many times they say “I” or “me”.  I have, on occasion, used a stopwatch to time how long someone will talk to me on the phone without giving me a chance to speak.  Everyone knows the look on the “Me-Monsters” face when you are talking…the look that says, “Finish up so I can talk about me some more”.  Ugh!  I hate it.

 

I’ve had two Eddie Bauer jackets in my life.  Both of them are gone now.  About 12 years ago I wore one of my Eddie Bauer jackets to a soup kitchen.  It was around Christmas time and I noticed that a guy there didn’t have a good jacket.  I gave mine to him and said Merry Christmas.

About 3 years ago I wore my other Eddie Bauer jacket somewhere and it got stolen.  I know who took it from me (they don’t know I know), and I try really hard to not let it affect my relationship with him.  Thankfully I don’t see him a lot anymore because it was REALLY tough!  All I could think whenever I saw him was, “You TOOK something that belonged to me”.  I hate that.

To be honest, the first jacket was a better jacket.  That doesn’t really matter though.  It’s not about the jacket at all.  It’s about someone taking something of mine.

That’s why I hate pride in other people.

Every time I’m around someone who demands that the world revolves around them it offends me, it grates on my nerves, and I hate them for it…

Because the world is supposed to revolve around ME.

They are taking something of mine.  Their pride is robbing me of what my pride has claimed.   If I give it to you, fine, but if you presume to take it I have a very different response.  I can FEEL my frustration, my impatience, and my relationship with you withering away.

This is important to remember.  It’s so easy when I feel those things towards a person to blame THEM.  I notice their pride and feel those things, but on top of it all I label THEM as the problem.  And, sure, they have a problem…but they aren’t alone.  They’re problem is my problem.  And that’s why I hate it so much.

“Everyone’s pride is in competition with everyone else’s pride” – CS Lewis

Leave a Reply

