Running Man: New Personal Record

I’m trying to get back in the habit of running, but after about a year of inconsistency it’s been pretty ugly. There have been a lot of failures, and moments when my knees were so stiff I felt like Frankenstein’s Monster lumbering down the sidewalk after some poor villager.

So I decided to reset my stats. Instead of comparing myself to how I was doing a couple of years ago when I was at my best, I wiped the board clean and am only looking at my 2015 numbers.

Today was a win. A big win!

I increased my distance from 2.2 to 2.5 miles

My best mile time of 2015 went from 10:45 to 10:03

That’s just the beginning. The best part wasn’t the stats.

1. The Hill – There is a hill that I face at the very end of every run. It ALWAYS forces me to stop and walk for a few seconds. It’s not so much steep as it is long. Those long, gradual hills are killer. Anyway, today, I conquered the hill! A hill is a part of Creation. Today I “exercised” (see what I did there) my God-given dominion over Creation!

The reason today was different: I was running after this girl

WAIT A MINUTE!!! I DIDN’T MEAN IT LIKE THAT!

There was a girl, but I wasn’t running after her b/c she was…ugh…I’ve derailed. Let me start again.

2. The girl – There was this girl. She came flying by me right when I was beginning the hill. I was running at top speed and she effortlessly zoomed past. It made me look silly. Right away I thought of one of my favorite quotes by Will Smith.

“If we get on the treadmill together, there’s two things: You’re getting off first, or I’m going to die.”

I made the decision I was going to run until she quit (or we went opposite directions). That hill was tough. I had used a lot of my energy on setting my personal record for 2015 on my mile. My curly locks (uncut b/c of the Rockets continued life in the playoffs) were making me really hot, sweat was running down my arms (yes Vickie, I was wearing my muscle shirt), and my legs were spent. Then, about 3/4 of the way up the hill the girl stopped. Her Barry Allen sprint ended and she put her arms over her head and began to walk! I won’t say I left her in my dust (she started running again before I caught up), but she stopped and I didn’t. BOO-YA!

Estimated age of said “girl”: 66

* Full quote of Will Smith (because it’s awesome):

“The only thing that I see that is distinctly different about me is I’m not afraid to die on a treadmill. I will not be out-worked, period. You might have more talent than me, you might be smarter than me, you might be sexier than me, you might be all of those things you got it on me in nine categories. But if we get on the treadmill together, there’s two things: You’re getting off first, or I’m going to die. It’s really that simple, right?
You’re not going to out-work me. It’s such a simple, basic concept. The guy who is willing to hustle the most is going to be the guy that just gets that loose ball. The majority of people who aren’t getting the places they want or aren’t achieving the things that they want in this business is strictly based on hustle. It’s strictly based on being out-worked; it’s strictly based on missing crucial opportunities. I say all the time if you stay ready, you ain’t gotta get ready.”

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

