Top 5 Moments of Community Dinner

I love community dinner. It was where it all began in Reedy Fork. We’ve since started small groups, activity based groups (like weekly basketball), men’s book studies, and prayer/accountability groups – but it all began at community dinner years ago.

Tonight, as we sat on my back patio eating hot dogs and talking about our shared story (which goes back quite a while for some of us) I was really reminded how special this is & how important community is for everyone. To know and be known is a basic need of humanity. Outside of relationship our spiritual lives whither. Even when it seems like all you are doing is eating hot dogs and laughing at kids falling off the playground you are, in reality, accomplishing something far more significant – Oneness.

“How good and pleasant it is when brothers dwell together in unity” – Psalm 133

So, after what was a particularly great community group this evening I thought I would countdown the TOP 5 things from the evening:

5. Laughter – It’s a funny group of people that show up to our community dinners. I’m surprised no one ever complains on the Reedy Fork facebook page that we are too loud.

4. Jalapeño and Cheese hot dogs – These things are awesome.

3. Children – I know kids can be overwhelming to some (me included), but watching the kids run around, entertain themselves, and get muddy from head to toe after playing in the construction site behind my house is pretty joy-inducing.

2. Old faces and new – We have been doing this a long time. It’s easy to get in a rut sometimes. Tonight it was wonderful to have some folks show up who hadn’t been able to join us in a while and some other neighbors who had been trying to make it for a couple of weeks.

1. Karen made a joke about flatulence – I’ve known Karen Astuto a long time. Everyone has told me that she is really funny (which I have never doubted) and that she can say some outrageous things (which I completely doubted!). Well, today she “let out” (see what I did there) a comment so “stinking” (see what I did there) funny that it changed how I see her forever. It only took 8 years.

249949_855363662451_1760120_n

I love these people. I love this group. Sometimes we talk about God and sometimes we don’t. Sometimes we talk about the things in life that are weighing us down and other times we celebrate all the things that are going well. The crowd, the conversation, and the food may change every week but the constant is love. I wouldn’t be the same without this group.

To those of you who I’ve found myself sharing life: Thank you! I’m better for you!

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

