Singing in the Car

Confession: I sing in the car… (seriously, watch this video!)

I sing loud.

Hillsong, Weezer, LMFAO, Katy Perry, George Strait, Awestruck Worship, & whoever sings that “Happy” song have all been covered by yours truly in the last few days.  And I’m really good.  In the last two days I’ve been busted, twice, singing as I’ve been driving somewhere.  I try to play it off, but really the options are: singing or talking to yourself in a really dramatic looking way.  

I need a bluetooth.  

Anyway, the same thing happened both times I realized I was being watched…I stopped singing.  I choked back the music of my soul…kept my heart from going on (ok, maybe Nsync & Celine Dion should have been in that list above as well) & sat there quietly as I drove.  Boring.

I’m convinced everyone is like me.  I simply cannot believe I live in a world where the majority of people aren’t singing at the top of their lungs when they are alone in the car.  There is no joy in that world.  Yea – we all sing.  As long as the crowd around us is distracted by driving & we have our windows up to hide our voices we all can exist in a shameless world.  Roll down those windows, however, and stop at a red light and suddenly we all get very quiet.  

Put a friend in the car with you and you turn on talk radio.  No one listens to talk radio.  We listen to Katy Perry when we are alone…we only listen to politics when carpooling. 

That’s the way relationships often work.  As long as other people are at a safe distance we feel comfortable, but let them get close and we start to, well, hide things.  We don’t lie about ourselves exactly.  We just don’t own everything.  We stop singing.  

Boring.  

 

Leave a Reply

