What I LOVE about Norovirus…

Noro-Nightmare 2014 has been a painful, frustrating, and just plain gross test of endurance.  Taking care of Noro-Nolan, just a couple of days after the worst of my personal Noropocalypse has been the fight of my life (I’ve led a sheltered life).  I’m not ashamed to admit that the only reason I haven’t cried is because I can’t spare the fluids.  It’s been awful.  

But I’ve learned something about love

1. Love is a steroid – I had slept about three hours the night before Nolan got sick.  Then at 11:00PM the top came of that kid and he turned into Linda Blair (as tempted as I am I won’t link to video of Exorcist vomiting scene).  Every half-hour until 7:00AM.  I didn’t sleep at all that night.  Last night, just as we were getting ready for bed Nolan started to complain of his stomach again.  I told Kristan, “I just can’t do another night”.  But when The Exorcist 2 began…it wasn’t difficult.  

When love is your motivation you push past your physical limits and do the work you know you need to do. 

2. Love is a pretty girl – I’m not a risk-taker by nature.  I don’t like breaking rules.  Once in college, however, I jumped a fence and went swimming in a pool after hours.  Why?  Kristan asked me to.  I wouldn’t jump off a bridge b/c my friends are jumping, but if Kristan told me to go for it…well…off I go.  

I hate vomit as much as anyone.  I don’t want to see it, smell it, or even hear it.  It’s gross.  But I love Nolan & love makes you do things you don’t want to do.

3. Love is a drug – As much as I have hated every moment of Noro-Nightmare 2014 I have enjoyed being able to serve.  I have been able to show love to my son and to my wife (who we are trying to protect from getting sick).  I have found myself (perhaps b/c of all the extra time from not sleeping) looking for ways to show love to others.  I don’t want to clean any more vomit…but I find myself wanting to make people smile.

** So, there ya go Kristan – this is me taking your advice and trying to “be positive”

 

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

One response to “What I LOVE about Norovirus…

  • laurie31304

    Thanks for sharing! Mothers around the world feel your pain! :)) Now that is something positive to think about….welcome to the club, Mike!

Leave a Reply

