The Positive Benefit of Haters

We have coyotes near our house.  When they start howling it can be really creepy.  As much as I’d like to think I could take down a pack of coyotes like Liam Neeson in “The Grey” I realize that, despite being 30 years younger, I’m no Liam Neeson.  Best case scenario is that I could wound one coyote and the rest would turn on him.  Not likely.  I’m probably a goner.

Anyway, I’ve put thought into this because my evening jogs often take me near where I have heard them howl.  As confident as I am that I’m not in danger I can’t help but run a little harder.

A little bit of risk can be a powerful motivator.

Over the years I’ve known a lot of people who love God and have dreams of doing something big with their lives.  Without fail, the main hinderance to seeing that big something become a reality is…well…their current reality.  There is safety in now, even when we aren’t happy with it.  Even when we are frustrated and unsatisfied we tend to prefer the comfort of what we know over the chaos of what we don’t.

A dream is chaos.

You can think and plan and write it all out on paper, but at the end of all the preparation is mystery…

“Will my dream happen?”

That’s a terrifying question.  It’s a question that feels easier to survive if it is given no voice or left buried deep inside.  To speak of an ambition is to publicly set your hand to a plow.  You can feel the eyes of others who don’t run after their dreams watching you…they might even want you to fail.

It’s a bit scary knowing there might be someone out there hoping you trip up, but if you can get over yourself and run hard after your dreams regardless of who is watching…their presence may just make you run a little harder.

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

