How to Go to Church

Image

Sunday comes every week.  Each time it comes around Christians everywhere roll out of bed, get dressed and (if it’s not raining) head off to church…just like they did last week and the week before that.

Routine.  It’s great for habit building but it can be a killer for passion.  Do you know anyone who wakes up excited that it’s time to brush their teeth again?  Routine can suck the passion out of just about anything.  Even church.

One day you roll out of bed, get dressed and (if it’s not raining) head off to church where it dawns on you…I’m not having fun anymore.  I’m bored.  You know you still love God and you still believe Jesus should be celebrated, but you know what it feels like to celebrate something; and that feeling isn’t found in church anymore.  3,500 people just like you leave the church every single day.  People who love God and want to follow Him are rejecting the church.

This is not ok.

“Husbands, love your wives just as Christ loved the church and gave Himself for her.”

Jesus loved the church.  He wants us to love the church as well.

A lot of people leave the church saying that they just don’t get anything out of it and it’s a waste of time.  I feel really bad about this because I get it.  I’ve been in churches where I felt like the pastor was dumbing down the message to the point where I was bored.  I’ve sat through outdated music by untalented musicians.  I can recall going to church for a couple of years and hanging out talking with people until service started, just to sit outside the sanctuary and read until it let out.  I got far more out of reading than I did that pastors sermons.  It would be really easy to point at me and call me immature, but the truth was that I was passionate about God during that time in my life and I wanted to grow, but it just wasn’t happening.  It wasn’t my fault.

No one had ever taught me how to go to church.

Maybe you are like me

  1. The music just doesn’t do it for me.
  2. How much longer is this sermon going to go?
  3. Where IS everyone today?   (More of a question pastors ask in the back room – even we forget how to go to church sometimes)
  4. Ugh.  Is it 8:00 already?  How many times can I hit the snooze before I have to get up?
  5. I just didn’t get anything out of service today.

Any of those sound familiar?  It’s not your fault.   We talk a lot about “going out” into the world, but not a lot about “coming in” to a church gathering.  Over the next few posts I’m going to touch on some simple things you can do to completely revolutionize how you approach church.  Your experience with your church family should be filled with joy, excitement, and significance every single time you are together.

Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

