Story: Knowing and Being Known

Last Sunday Kristan and I went out to lunch with a couple from our church.  It didn’t take me long to realize that I really liked these two.  This didn’t come as too much of a surprise.  They’ve been around for a little while now and I have heard from everyone how great they are.

What makes someone so great anyway?  Do people say that about me to other folks?

So we sit down and start talking.  We keep talking through our meal as we eat.  We continue talking long after the plates have been cleared and the waitress has stopped refilling our waters.  Suddenly, I realize why I like these two so much!

1. They want to know me.  I mean, like REALLY know me.  The conversation wasn’t just favorite sports teams or talk about kids.  Nothing is wrong with those topics, but stuff I like and little things I have made aren’t me.

2.  They wanted to be known.  Seriously…this was our first real conversation.  Our friendship began with vulnerability.  Trust was assumed, not earned, and the more I thought about it I’m pretty sure that’s the way it’s supposed to be.

I think people like to talk about themselves.  We like people who let us do that.  I also think we enjoy being in life with another person.  That someone trusts us and likes us enough to share themselves means something.

It may sound selfish, but I think we were designed in a way that even the most selfless and vulnerable love feels really great to us.

About Michael Reeve

I love my people. In 2003 I married my beautiful best friend. Then in 2007 we had our first son, Nolan, named after my favorite baseball player (Nolan Ryan). In 2009 our second son, Asher, was born. We have two dogs, Sawyer and Mr. Precious (Yea, I know) and some fish that are sure to die in the next couple of days. In 2004 we moved to Reedy Fork Ranch in northeast Greensboro. We love this area and we are thrilled to call it home. Now, God has called our family (along with a great team of people) to start a church in NE Greensboro. Proximity Church will have it's first Sunday on January 7, 2018! View all posts by Michael Reeve

Leave a Reply

